Your browser is out-of-date.

In order to have a more interesting navigation, we suggest upgrading your browser, clicking in one of the following links.
All browsers are free and easy to install.

  • in vitruvius
    • in magazines
    • in journal
  • \/





The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA invites publishers, editors, curators and authors to submit their publications for consideration for the 7th CICA Awards 2011 by 30th March 2011.


The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects. 2011 is no exception and a CICA session is being planned for the UIA Congress to be held in Tokyo. The current President is Prof. Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are François Chaslin (F), Prof. Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Jorge Glusberg (Argentina), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey) and Jennifer Taylor (Australia).

CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Paris, New York, London, Gelsenkirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio, Buenos Aires, Kuwait, Vancouver and Torino.

On the CICA Awards

The CICA Book Awards were re-established in 2005 with the names of the three founding members. Previous CICA Awards have included the following works:

- 1980: Manfredi Nicoletti, for L’Architettura della caverna (Bari 1980).

- 1985: Alan Colquhoun, for Modern Architecture and Historical Change (MIT Press 1981).

- 1987: Roger Connah, for Writing Architecture: Fantomas Fragments Fictions (Rakennuskirja 1989).

Awards for Critical Journalism and for catalogue prefaces have been made to the following writers, teachers and critics: William Curtis, Peter Davey, Arthur Drexler, James Marston Fitch, Kenneth Frampton, Heinrich Klotz.

On the 7th CICA Awards 2011

Award winners will be announced during the UIA XXIII World Congress of Architecture to be held in Tokyo from September 25th to October 1st in 2011.

The Awards fall into three categories:

- Bruno Zevi CICA Book Award 2011

For published books on architectural criticism, theory and history;

- Pierre Vago CICA Award 2011

For an article of architectural criticism for individual, institutional or society magazines, newspapers and journals;

- Julius Posener CICA Exhibition Catalogue Award 2011

For a critical text, preface or introduction published in an exhibition catalogue or supporting publication produced for an architectural exhibition;

Award Parameters

Five copies of each publication are to be submitted to the address below. Publications cannot be returned. Award winning items may be displayed at the UIA Congress. The verdicts of the International Jury are final.

Who is eligible?

Books, journals and catalogues can be submitted by publishers, editors, curators and authors. A shortlist will be announced on or before the 1st September 2011 and the category winners during the UIA XXIII World Congress of Architecture.

Address for Submissions

Copies of all submissions – in quintuplicate – should be sent or delivered at the publisher’s or author’s own expense by 30th March 2011 to:

CICA Awards 2011
c/o Universität Kassel / Fachbereich 6: ASL / Lehrstuhl Prof. Cuadra
Henschelstrasse 2, D-34109 Kassel / Germany
For further information contact: Prof. Dr. Manuel Cuadra (

The International Jury:

Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK), Manuel Cuadra (Germany),Sengül Gür (Turkey), Louise Noelle (Mexico), Jennifer Taylor (Australia).

CICA book and journal Awards 2011

inscription dates
from 01/02/2011
to 30/03/2011


Kassel Germany


© 2000–2020 Vitruvius
All rights reserved

The sources are always responsible for the accuracy of the information provided